Pagoda Awards

The Pagoda Awards honor Berks Countians who have exceptionally impacted the arts in our community in three categories: Excellence in the Arts, Patron of the Arts, and Community Leadership and Commitment.
Honorees are selected based on the following criteria for each award category:

Excellence in the Arts: Recognizes an individual artist whose personal accomplishments and achievements in his or her artistic discipline exemplify excellence of the arts in Berks County.

Patron of the Arts: Recognizes an individual, corporation, or foundation whose philanthropy has helped cultivate and support the arts in Berks County.

Community Leadership and Commitment: Recognizes an individual whose volunteer leadership efforts champion and promote the arts in Berks County.

Past Recipients
1993 – Gertrude Sternbergh
1994 – Wesley Fisher
1995 – Jack Coggins
1996 – Bruce & Betty Lou McLean
1997 – Elain Bertolet
1998 – Sidney Rothstein
1999 – J. Carl Borelli
2000 – Douglas P. Fisher
2001 – Thomas B. Souders, M.D.
2002 – Sandi McCarthy
2003 – Ed & Carol Butler
2004 – Albert Boscov
2005 – Lois & Irvin Cohen, Al Leader, Gene Burkhart
2006 – Marlin & Regina “Ginger” Miller, Michael Constantine, James Carroll
2007 – Jeffrey Lentz, Carolyn and Jerry Holleran, Will Dexter
2008 – Fredrick Toone Bacon, Angelo DiMaria, James Yocum
2011 – Matthew Daub, William G. Koch, Sr., C. Thomas Work
2013 – Bruce and Ruth Anne Bengtson, Cedric Elmer, David Kline
2014 – John Ernesto
2017 – The Reading Buccaneers
2018 – Jim and Anna Connors